WWE Draft Preview



Hey everyone. Jody Jamieson here with a quick preview of the WWE Draft, coming to you tomorrow night on the first Tuesday Night Smackdown Live. If this is your first WWE Draft, or even if you remember the 2002 draft, let's hope a wee preview of what to expect is useful for everyone!

Back in 2002, your GMs were Vince McMahon (Smackdown) and Ric Flair (Raw) and Vince made the first pick here.

This time round, we have Stephanie McMahon drafting for Raw and Shane McMahon for Smackdown. Aren't you excited that it's all about the McMahons?

Quick run through the rules of the 2016 draft, as released on WWE.com.

The four key points they highlight are... Raw has the first overall pick Since SmackDown Live is a two-hour show and Raw is three hours, for every two picks SmackDown Live receives, Raw will receive three picks Tag teams count as one pick unless a Commissioner/General Manager specifically only wants one member of the team​ Six draft picks will be made off the NXT roster​

So Stephanie will pick first and will have 3 picks to Shane's two. This addresses both the different length's of the shows, and the horrible thought that they might soon consider moving Smackdown to three hours. Heaven forbid.

The tag team rules have been set out in a way where I can only assume (because it's WWE) that one or two teams will be broken up, but you essentially have to do it by rejecting one half of the team. Great way to get people over.

And 6 NXT talents will be drafted. The rumours are flying around on who will come up. Finn Balor's name is treated as a certainty, which it should. American Alpha (Chad Gable and Jason Jordan) are being heavily touted for a spot. Makes sense. Nia Jax is being talked about from the female side. Please no. She's a million miles from ready.

So the full roster as released by WWE.com available for drafting is...

MALE ROSTER AJ Styles Alberto Del Rio Apollo Crews Baron Corbin Big Show Braun Strowman Bray Wyatt Brock Lesnar Cesaro Chris Jericho Darren Young (w/ Bob Backlund) Dean Ambrose – WWE Champion Demon Kane Dolph Ziggler Erick Rowan Jack Swagger John Cena Kalisto Kevin Owens Mark Henry Neville Randy Orton Roman Reigns Rusev (w/ Lana) – United States Champion